Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

September 7, 2013

Flowing with the Go

Filed under: Uncategorized — Karma @ 9:36 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Things have been changing around here, life has been different. I told you in this post about moving Meghan into college. She’s been there just over two weeks now; I still have sad moments and feel the void but I think I’m starting to adjust. I’m back to work/school and having that routine helps. I’ve also started some projects around the house that I’ve wanted done for a long time. They are only in the beginning stages, but I am looking forward to the results.

The first order of business was my dining room rug. I’ve shown you the spot where I sit and write these blog posts in more than one post, but I remember taking you on a little tour of my house in this post. If you are someone who likes to picture things as you’re reading, you might like to take a peek there. Anyway, I’ve ripped out that rug. It has been here more than 20 years and it was showing its age with stain and smell. So here’s the room without the rug:
a change

It has a nice hardwood floor underneath and I am hoping to hire someone very soon to come and refinish it, then get an area rug for under the table. Since we had to empty the room to pull up the rug, poor Meghan’s room got to be the storage space for a lot of the dining room’s contents:
IMG_0493

Home improvement is a little like that children’s book If You Give a Mouse a Cookie…

Do you know that story? A kid gives a mouse a cookie, and then he wants a glass of milk, then he wants a napkin or to wash his hands or something like that, and the story keeps going and going and getting bigger and bigger. I pulled up the rug, knowing the floor would need to be refinished, but then realized the walls badly needed re-painting. When we started prepping for the paint, I noticed just how dusty my drapes are… you know what I mean?

Another project is finally in the works, one that I’ve yearned for for many years, and that I told you about in this post earlier this year. Yes, my friends, we have put a deposit down on a hot tub!
something new

I’m waiting for our electrician to get back to me so we can figure out an installation date, but I am so excited about this I can barely stand it! It is going to go outside on my beloved deck.
My summertime hangout
Looking at it from this view, the hot tub will go in the area to the right of the stairs. Once it is here, my Saturday morning blog-writing may become just a little less frequent, lol (not that I have a schedule anyway, I do call this spot When I Feel Like It afterall!)

Next in line after the dining room floor and the hot tub, are the kitchen floor and the living room rug. The kitchen floor has looked worn and tired for a long time, and our living room rug has shown the ravages of being pet-owners. Once I get that new living room rug, I’m pretty sure I’d like to get new furniture…. damn, I am the mouse who got that cookie!

How about a tomato instead?
Supersteak 2-pounder
(One of my first 2-pound supersteaks from the garden this year)